Honors, Awards and On The Move Updates

May 23, 2019 | Posted In Brotherhood

AGR and Dairy Challenge

The National Dairy Challenge Competition is unique in the fact that all teams are divided into four Divisions evenly (Dairy A-D), this way there’s four 1st Place Teams. Alpha Gamma Rho collegiate member, Zachary Lensmire competed on the University of Wisconsin-Madison (Iota Chapter) with AGR Alumni (Iota Chapter) Ted Halbach and Dave Combs in the Dairy A Division, the team placed 2nd. Cornell University’s team was an ALL AGR team, members include Ben Dye, Nolan Feldpausch, Simon Johnson and Chris Sweeney. The team competed in the Dairy C Division and placed 2nd.

Cornell University Team (photo from Dairy Challenge)
University of Wisconsin-Madison Team (photo from Dairy Challenge)
Kendal Frazier, Alpha Zeta Chapter alumnus

Kendal Frazier Alpha Zeta Chapter (Kansas State University) alumnus retires from the National Cattlemen’s Beef Association after 34 years, the past four were spent as CEO. Read the full news release here.

Left to right: Rich Hansen, Tom Champley, Jim Wright, Dave Culberston, Gene Zumwalt, Doug Isham, Ken Bettis, Phil Francis, Dick Jenkins, Dave Hawkinson, Gail Allaman, Jim Klokkenga, Tom Ranson, Tom Hofer, Tom Hunsley, Rex Piper, Ross Peter and Tom Doubet

Alpha Gamma Rho Classes of 1968 and 1969 from Alpha Chapter (University of Illinois) celebrate their 50th and 51st Reunion. During the time of their graduation, many of these men persevered, took care of their military obligations, went to each other’s weddings, became leaders in their careers and communities and came back together again to celebrate brotherhood. Phil Francis and Jim Wright Noble Rulers of the classes organized the event and presided over the gathering. “Here’s to Alpha Gamma Rho, the finest in the land…”

Alpha Gamma Chapter (University of Florida) kick started a new philanthropy to help with food insecurity at the University. The event was sponsored by the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences (CALS), AGR and Sigma Alpha. The ExtravaCANza event was in support of the Hitchcock Field and Fork Pantry, which provides food for the University’s food-insecure students, faculty and staff. The event collected over a ton of canned food items to be donated and Alpha Gamma Rho took home 1st place in the creative can structure contest.

Washington D.C. area Alpha Gamma Rho alumni held its annual meeting on Tuesday, April 9th at noon.  This group meets biannually to host speakers and prominent guests and represents 13 chapters.  The group was honored to host the Ambassador, Gregg Doud.  Ambassador Doud is an American economist and government official, currently serving as the Chief Agricultural Negotiator in the Office of the United States Trade Representative.  Doud previously served as President of the Commodity Markets Council, professional for the USDA Nutrition and Forestry, and was Chief Economist for the National Cattlemen’s Beef Association.  The keynote speaker was Chief Development Officer, Carol Johnson, who brought greetings from the Home Office with an annual update, as well as an introduction to herself and new fundraising perspectives fromThe Alpha Gamma Rho Educational Foundation.

The Alpha Theta Chapter (University of Maryland) has continued to work in honor of their brother Mitch Gryszkiewicz. In July 2014, the Chapter lost the 21-year-old to suicide. Since then, the brothers of Alpha Theta Chapter have dedicated their philanthropic efforts to save people like Mitch from suicide. Through the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention, Baden Strong’s Out of Darkness Walk and their event, Alpha Gamma Rhodeo, the chapter raised $5,800 to go towards suicide prevention this year.

Gamma Chapter (Pennsylvania State University) has a new adviser, Corey Hudson. His role is to advise and guide these young men to make sound and important decisions. Hudson is the Behavior Analyst for New Story Schools.

The Alpha Delta Chapter (Montana State University) earned four awards this spring including the Philanthropy Award and Chapter of the Year. Brother Cole Jensen won New Member of the Year and Brother Darrell Stevenson won Alumnus of the Year.

Tye Allen Harris from the Alpha Phi Chapter (South Dakota State University) earned First Runner-up for Outstanding Member of a Student Organization at SDSU out of over 200 organizations from across the campus.

The Alpha Alpha Chapter (West Virginia University) earned the Excellence in Risk Management award for their work during their annual “Hogroast” Philanthropy and the Arista Cup, which is awarded to the top performing fraternity at WVU based on standards set by the University. Noble Ruler Ethan Atkinson inducted Brother Earl Core into the WVU Alumni Greek Hall of Fame during the 2019 Greek Awards Banquet. Alumni Michael Nadjmabadi received the Meritorious Service Award and Brother Tyler Turner received Officer of the Year for his work as the Membership Development Chair on the Interfraternity Council Executive Board.

The Eta Chapter (Iowa State University) walked away with an armful of awards after the Fraternal Award of Excellence (FAE) Banquet. They earned Excellence in Academics, Excellence in Leadership and Excellence in Social Justice and were finalists for the Partnership Award for their partnership with ISU 4U Promise. Cale Pellet was a finalist for Freshman of the Year, Robert “Jack” Carter won Sophomore of the Year, Trey Wiese was a finalist for Senior of the Year, Housemother Dian Pinneke won House Director of the Year, Adviser Justin Chestnut was a finalist for Advisor of the Year and Brandon Hanson won Sorority & Fraternity Community Member of the Year Award.

The Chi Chapter (Cal Poly State University) earned the Excellence in Safety and Risk Management Award, Carsen Starkey Risk Management Award, Cal Poly Pride Award, IFC Chapter of the Year and past Noble Ruler Richie Medeiros won IFC President of the Year.

The Nu Chapter (North Carolina State University) earned the North Carolina State Fraternity and Sorority Life Standards of Excellence Fraternity of the Year Award in December 2018 for their hard work in the 2018 calendar year.

The Beta Chi Chapter (Stephan F. Austin State University) was recognized as a 5 Star Chapter for their hard work on campus. 

The Gamma Epsilon Chapter (Sam Houston State University) earned 5 Star Recognition by the IFC and recognition for outstanding performance in service, organizational involvement, leadership development and new member programs.

Congratulations to the Alpha Gamma Rho Home Office staff for their achievements at the Fraternity Communications Association Conference May 10. The Fraternity was recognized for two awards categories. In the Communication Category, we received 3rd Place recognition in the Annual Report category for the 2018 Growth Report Making Better Men for a Lifetime. In the Design Category, we received 3rdPlace recognition in the Feature Story category for the Doing What is Best four-page spread covering Phil Josephson's career as Alpha Gamma Rho’s Executive. This was the feature story for the Spring 2018 Sickle & Sheaf.

© Alpha Gamma Rho. All Rights Reserved.

JLSA - A Kansas City Marketing and Advertising Agency